Guest Reviews

We're delighted to hear such lovely comments from all our guests...

"Two days in the lakes"

Reviewed Trip Advisor - November 2018

Amazing location in lake district. Small hotel never seemed over stretched n everything was relaxing. Had a suite overlooking the river, room was great and comfy bed. Comp chocolates on arrival. Dined one night and was exceptional food very pleased when my gf got happy.

"Walking holiday dining out each evening"

Reviewed Trip Advisor - November 2018

Spending four days in Grasmere, to walk in the locality, we stayed at the excellent Daffodil Hotel and Spa but decided to dine at a different restaurant each evening. The Rothay Garden Hotel restaurant proved to be a very good choice.

"Mr and Mrs Love"

Reviewed Trip Advisor - November 2018

We came to celebrate (as a surprise) my wife's 60th birthday. The hotel and staff were very welcoming and informative. After check in we were shown to our room and I for one was pleasantly surprised by the room, the furnishings and the balcony overlooking...

"A quality hotel and restaurant"

Reviewed Trip Advisor - October 2018

Wow, we had such an amazing stay here. All the facilities are fabulous, but most especially the location, restaurant and service. We ate in the restaurant both evenings and enjoyed the breakfast, and could not fault the food or the service.

"An autumn break in the Lakes"

Reviewed Trip Advisor - October 2018

We enjoyed a 1 night stay at this beautiful hotel. Staff were excellent, very professional but fun! 4 course meal was delicious with good menu and great service. Spa facilities are good and jacuzzi was most welcome after a long walk. Location is perfect

"Delightful Hotel Within Walking Distance of Grasmere Village"

Reviewed Trip Advisor - October 2018

We have just had a very relaxing overnight stay at the Rothay Garden Hotel. Situated just outside Grasmere with lovely gardens and car parking. This hotel is a gem. We had a spacious and very comfortable room with balcony on the first floor

"Fantastic stay"

Reviewed Trip Advisor - October 2018

The best all round hotel we have stayed in. Lovely quiet surroundings, gorgeous food and excellent staff. Stayed at The Rothay Gardens for 1 night as a birthday treat and it certainly didn’t disappoint. The room was nice and spacious with a balcony over looking

"An amazing hotel"

Reviewed Trip Advisor - October 2018

We’ve just stayed at this hotel for a special anniversary treat. What a treat! We had a fantastic room with a large balcony overlooking the river which we managed to make use of as the weather was kind to us.

"Fabulous hotel, hugely attentive staff and first rate dining experience!

Reviewed Trip Advisor - October 2018

Fabulous hotel and first rate dining experience! Incredibly attentive staff, spotlessly clean throughout and excellent dining experience ensured that we had a thoroughly enjoyable experience at the Rothay Garden Hotel. Couple all of this with an idyllic location, stunning garden with carefully crafted lawns

"Weekend treat to remember, delightful"

Reviewed Trip Advisor - October 2018

We have just returned from 2 glorious nights spent at the Rothay Garden Hotel, we have stayed at many great Lake District hotels in the past 30 years but are thrilled to discover this our new favourite. Excellent, friendly and professional staff

What the papers say

“For a hotel that will give you a warm, friendly welcome and provide impeccable facilities and service, plus food of quite sensational standards, then you need look no further.”
LANCASHIRE EVENING POST
“Grasmere has built a reputation for good places to stay, and top of that list must come the Rothay Garden Hotel.”
BRISTOL EVENING POST
“An oasis of luxury on the edge of Grasmere.”
NOTTINGHAM EVENING POST
“Wonderful, truly wonderful! Loved the hotel, what a fabulous setting is…… The food was spectacular. I can't remember when I've had a better weekend...”
CARLISLE NEWS & STAR
“The Rothay Garden has all the ingredients for a perfect few days’ holiday.”
THE LAKES MESSENGER
“Many hotels lavish attention on restaurants and lounges and skimp on bedrooms: the Rothay Garden gets the balance right.”
WESTERN DAILY PRESS
"The perfect place to stay....stunning views and a remarkably intimate atmosphere where members of staff treat guests as old friends"
DAILY MAIL ONLINE
“A real flower-shrouded oasis in Grasmere is the Rothay Garden Hotel on the edge of the village ... Head chef Andrew Burton’s extensive menus tantalise the taste buds.”
ABERDEEN EVENING EXPRESS
“The Rothay Garden offered comfort, cleanliness and the sort of food for which some people would die … Here was a hotel which placed its guests above all else … Heaven on earth.”
YORKSHIRE POST
“Perfectly positioned on the edge of Grasmere village … The food is something you should be warned about – dinner was absolutely gorgeous and five courses long.”
MATURE TYMES
“The elegant hotel is set in two acres on the edge of Grasmere village, whose charm is greatly enhanced when the crowds dissolve in the evening … Don’t plan an extensive lunch!”
BIRMINGHAM POST
“A very special hotel in a very special part of England … The food is of the highest quality … After a hard day’s exploring, the ravenous diner can enjoy top-class gourmet food.”
COLCHESTER EVENING GAZETTE
“For a special treat, I really couldn’t recommend this place highly enough … The staff are very friendly, the service is excellent, the rooms are lovely, and the food is divine …… I don’t think I could find fault with the hotel and would
HULL DAILY MAIL
“We did have the perfect answer to our exertions, plunging into our en-suite whirlpool bath in the delightful Rothay Garden Hotel, which provides an oasis of luxury on the edge of Grasmere.”
NOTTINGHAM EVENING POST
“Outstanding … an excellent base from which to explore the Lakes all year round … At the Rothay Garden you’re sure of superb service. And the outside world takes second place to the luxuries of the hotel’s cosy lounges, scenic views and
SOUTH SHIELDS GAZETTE
“For something a little extra special, the splendid Rothay Garden Hotel provides the perfect cuisine … comfortable and classy … memorable enough to attract diners from as far as Newcastle.”
BOLTON EVENING NEWS
“The warmth of the after-dark welcome at the Rothay Garden Hotel set the scene for the rest of our stay … We won’t wait until the next anniversary to return.”
WEST LANCASHIRE EVENING GAZETTE
“An ideal location from which to explore a piece of heaven on earth.”
ONTARIO FREE PRESS, CANADA
“The hotel oozes comfort … Me, I stayed in the hotel garden with a beer. And even there, the views were spectacular.”
PETERBOROUGH EVENING TELEGRAPH
“Food at the Rothay Garden is gourmet standard – every night.”
CHESTER CHOICE
“We really did have a fabulous time and the food was out of this world – especially for a village which specialises in gingerbread!”
SHROPSHIRE STAR
“Food at the Rothay Garden is beautifully cooked, and portions are perfectly sized….expect a courteous welcome and a relaxed atmosphere”….
GOOD FOOD GUIDE

Social Share

We have such lovely reviews. Well done Team Rothay keep up the great work!! Read them here >>… https://t.co/CgpM8w3704
There are few people who haven’t heard this verse –“I wandered lonely as a cloudThat floats on high o'er vales and hills,When all at once I saw a crowd,A host, of golden daffodils;Beside the lake, beneath the trees,Fluttering and dancing ...
Get Connected...
2 Rosette
AA 4 star hotel
CBen Gold
Cumbria Tourism
Food and Drink Awards 2014
Green Globe
The Lake District
Nuture Lakeland
TripAdvisor
Visit England