Guest Reviews

We're delighted to hear such lovely comments from all our guests...


"Relaxing break - Sarah”

Reviewed Trip Advisor - March 2017

Enjoyed a 2 night break in this lovely hotel. Room was spotless, the dinners and breakfasts delicious on both occasions. The spa facilities were very relaxing in the early evening after walking. The staff are friendly and very efficient. This is e second time we have stayed here and would recommend it to anyone looking for a short break.


“Another high quality experience!”

Reviewed Trip Advisor - March 2017

My wife and I enjoyed two nights in this small hotel from 7-9 March. We had a similar stay in November. The spa facility is a key feature of this place and is open to residents only. We had a Rydal suite and impressed by the cleanliness and comfort of the room. The restaurant is excellent and overlooks a lovely...


“Wonderful hotel - Katy”

Reviewed Trip Advisor - March 2017

Stayed here for two nights in a Rydale room and was suitably impressed. The room was well equipped and spotlessly clean. It was small but perfectly adequate and the bathroom was larger than expected with a powerful shower. We arrived during storm 'Doris' and luckily we were able to check in early in order to to off.
All staff we encountered were friendly and polite and I must mention that the food in the restaurant was absolutely delicious. Breakfast both mornings was plentiful with a good variety of food and dinner in the restaurant was worth the price in my opinion.


Helen Stainton

Reviewed Facebook - March 2017

The most wonderful break to celebrate our silver wedding - two days for the two of us then two days joined by our nearest and dearest. The staff were fantastic - knew just how to make you feel at home but make you feel special. Loved the food and the spa .......I certainly didn't want to come home


Sharon Lynch

Reviewed Facebook - March 2017

It was our first time at the Rothay and it won't be our last. It's a beautiful hotel with charming staff & good food. I would recommend it to anyone that was looking for a tranquil weekend break


“four star in all respects - Adrian”

Reviewed Trip Advisor - March 2017

This is an excellent hotel in all respects. Very clean and warm. Excellent food and welcoming staff. Great spa. Good location and easy walking distance to the centre of Grasmere. On a main road but not affected by traffic noise at night. Good free off road parking.


“Will return - Angela”

Reviewed Trip Advisor - February 2017

Just stayed for a fabulous two night stay in Rothay Garden. The spa provided much needed relaxation after a day walking in the beautiful Lake District. Dinner was beautifully presented with lots of locally sourced produce. The lamb and beef were cooked to perfection. I have to mention the soufflés as my husband had three-a goats cheese one as a starter one night, a lime one for dessert and a rhubarb one on the second night (he's a bit of a connoisseur!)
We will definitely return to this wonderful hotel as the food, surroundings,spa, staff and walking were exceptional.


Mike France

Reviewed Facebook - February 2017

Returned for a 2nd time and everybit as memorable as the first time. Fantastic service from a great team and the food is excellent!!! Not a question of if we go back more like when!!


“First Stay - Kaz”

Reviewed Trip Advisor - February 2017

We have just returned from a three nights stay at this hotel and we were not disappointed. We were greeted by Stephanie and a colleague (who carried our bags to our room), lovely smooth check in and shown to our room. We stayed in the Butter Crag premier Loft Suite, which is situated on the second floor with a balcony...

What the papers say

“For a hotel that will give you a warm, friendly welcome and provide impeccable facilities and service, plus food of quite sensational standards, then you need look no further.”
LANCASHIRE EVENING POST
“Grasmere has built a reputation for good places to stay, and top of that list must come the Rothay Garden Hotel.”
BRISTOL EVENING POST
“An oasis of luxury on the edge of Grasmere.”
NOTTINGHAM EVENING POST
“Wonderful, truly wonderful! Loved the hotel, what a fabulous setting is…… The food was spectacular. I can't remember when I've had a better weekend...”
CARLISLE NEWS & STAR
“The Rothay Garden has all the ingredients for a perfect few days’ holiday.”
THE LAKES MESSENGER
“Many hotels lavish attention on restaurants and lounges and skimp on bedrooms: the Rothay Garden gets the balance right.”
WESTERN DAILY PRESS
"The perfect place to stay....stunning views and a remarkably intimate atmosphere where members of staff treat guests as old friends"
DAILY MAIL ONLINE
“A real flower-shrouded oasis in Grasmere is the Rothay Garden Hotel on the edge of the village ... Head chef Andrew Burton’s extensive menus tantalise the taste buds.”
ABERDEEN EVENING EXPRESS
“The Rothay Garden offered comfort, cleanliness and the sort of food for which some people would die … Here was a hotel which placed its guests above all else … Heaven on earth.”
YORKSHIRE POST
“Perfectly positioned on the edge of Grasmere village … The food is something you should be warned about – dinner was absolutely gorgeous and five courses long.”
MATURE TYMES
“The elegant hotel is set in two acres on the edge of Grasmere village, whose charm is greatly enhanced when the crowds dissolve in the evening … Don’t plan an extensive lunch!”
BIRMINGHAM POST
“A very special hotel in a very special part of England … The food is of the highest quality … After a hard day’s exploring, the ravenous diner can enjoy top-class gourmet food.”
COLCHESTER EVENING GAZETTE
“For a special treat, I really couldn’t recommend this place highly enough … The staff are very friendly, the service is excellent, the rooms are lovely, and the food is divine …… I don’t think I could find fault with the hotel and would
HULL DAILY MAIL
“We did have the perfect answer to our exertions, plunging into our en-suite whirlpool bath in the delightful Rothay Garden Hotel, which provides an oasis of luxury on the edge of Grasmere.”
NOTTINGHAM EVENING POST
“Outstanding … an excellent base from which to explore the Lakes all year round … At the Rothay Garden you’re sure of superb service. And the outside world takes second place to the luxuries of the hotel’s cosy lounges, scenic views and
SOUTH SHIELDS GAZETTE
“For something a little extra special, the splendid Rothay Garden Hotel provides the perfect cuisine … comfortable and classy … memorable enough to attract diners from as far as Newcastle.”
BOLTON EVENING NEWS
“The warmth of the after-dark welcome at the Rothay Garden Hotel set the scene for the rest of our stay … We won’t wait until the next anniversary to return.”
WEST LANCASHIRE EVENING GAZETTE
“An ideal location from which to explore a piece of heaven on earth.”
ONTARIO FREE PRESS, CANADA
“The hotel oozes comfort … Me, I stayed in the hotel garden with a beer. And even there, the views were spectacular.”
PETERBOROUGH EVENING TELEGRAPH
“Food at the Rothay Garden is gourmet standard – every night.”
CHESTER CHOICE
“We really did have a fabulous time and the food was out of this world – especially for a village which specialises in gingerbread!”
SHROPSHIRE STAR
“Food at the Rothay Garden is beautifully cooked, and portions are perfectly sized….expect a courteous welcome and a relaxed atmosphere”….
GOOD FOOD GUIDE

Social Share

Have a great #Easter Weekend. RT and tell us your plans #LakeDistrict #VisitLakes #Grasmere https://t.co/MXYFBelYH3
Besides taking to Cumbria by foot or paddle, one of the best ways to experience The Lake District is with your taste buds. Indeed, with a vibrant local scene for markets, producers and events, our food and drink scene is in rude health at present. Guests...
Get Connected...