Guest Reviews

We're delighted to hear such lovely comments from all our guests...
 

“Special, luxury small hotel in Grasmere”

Reviewed Trip Advisor - February 2016

We love this place. This was our 4th visit and the Rothay Garden never disappoints. All of the rooms are decorated to a very high standard, comfortable with a luxurious feel. The staff are really friendly and can't do enough for you. They are used to walkers and don't turn their noses up at casual walking gear.
 

“Could it get any better?”

Reviewed Trip Advisor - February 2016

Stayed at the Rothay Garden for 3 nights this week. Excellent food, the staff were so lovely, nothing was too much trouble. A great place to start many fantastic lake district walks. Would love to return. Margaret and Malcolm Wardl
 

“Great hotel in Grasmere”

Reviewed Trip Advisor - February 2016

This old hotel has been sympathetically modernised on the inside. The reception and waiting staff were friendly and efficient. Our room in the eaves was very comfortably furnished. Fresh coffee, biscuits, chocolates and good quality toiletries were all provided. Dinner was very nice - some wonderful Lakeland lamb. Though a few more vegetables would have been nice.
 

“Understated excellence...”

Reviewed Trip Advisor - February 2016

I've always relied on TripAdvisor yet selfishly, have declined to submit reviews, a mere onlooker, neglecting any editorial responsibilities. My difficulty in booking a weekend stay in The Lakes combined with the excellent couple of days in the Rothay Garden Hotel proved enough of a catalyst to prompt this first review. There are A LOT of hotels in the Lake...
 

“Maxine Room 18, Fab views .”

Reviewed Trip Advisor - February 2016

We stayed this room for 2 nights at the weekend,  was fabulous, super views on both sides, one side balcony, overlooking the gardens with red squirrels to watch, and the other big balcony, overlooking the river, very private, Fabulous to sit out in good weather and enjoy a glass of fizz ....
 

“Excellent”

Reviewed Trip Advisor - January 2016

Only a one night stay unfortunately but what a lovely hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and the guest rooms and bedrooms were of a very high standard. The food was also extremely good, being of a 2 AA rosette standard. Its not a "cheap" hotel , but you get what you pay for. I would highly recommend a visit.
 

Emma Fowler

Facebook - January 2016

Just left the Rothay Garden Hotel and already thinking about when we can come back. A beautiful hotel with lovely rooms, gorgeous food and the most professional and attentive staff we've come across in a long time. Special thank you to Elliott for helping us with his hints and tips for our scafell trek :) loved having breakfast in our room with the river running by and thoroughly enjoyed the spa facilities. A great place to stay.
 

Chris Burdett

Facebook - January 2016

We have just returned from a 2 night stay and I could not recommend the Rothay Garden Hotel highly enough. The room was lovely, the facilities are top notch and the staff were all friendly and attentive.

The food in the restaurant was absolutely beautiful, the setting is fantastic and we will definitely be back for another stay in the spring.

Thank you to all the staff at the Rothay Garden Hotel.
 

Ian Ruddick

Facebook - January 2016

We love the hotel which is probably why we've been coming for 20-odd years. Very friendly staff, excellent food and the spa for post-walk relaxation make for the perfect break.
 

"Superb stay - Kate McDonald"

Facebook - December 2016

Superb stay. Our room was fab, bed super comfy!! Food was excellent and very extensive wine list. Highly recommend!
 

What the papers say

“For a hotel that will give you a warm, friendly welcome and provide impeccable facilities and service, plus food of quite sensational standards, then you need look no further.”
LANCASHIRE EVENING POST
“Grasmere has built a reputation for good places to stay, and top of that list must come the Rothay Garden Hotel.”
BRISTOL EVENING POST
“An oasis of luxury on the edge of Grasmere.”
NOTTINGHAM EVENING POST
“Wonderful, truly wonderful! Loved the hotel, what a fabulous setting is…… The food was spectacular. I can't remember when I've had a better weekend...”
CARLISLE NEWS & STAR
“The Rothay Garden has all the ingredients for a perfect few days’ holiday.”
THE LAKES MESSENGER
“Many hotels lavish attention on restaurants and lounges and skimp on bedrooms: the Rothay Garden gets the balance right.”
WESTERN DAILY PRESS
"The perfect place to stay....stunning views and a remarkably intimate atmosphere where members of staff treat guests as old friends"
DAILY MAIL ONLINE
“A real flower-shrouded oasis in Grasmere is the Rothay Garden Hotel on the edge of the village ... Head chef Andrew Burton’s extensive menus tantalise the taste buds.”
ABERDEEN EVENING EXPRESS
“The Rothay Garden offered comfort, cleanliness and the sort of food for which some people would die … Here was a hotel which placed its guests above all else … Heaven on earth.”
YORKSHIRE POST
“Perfectly positioned on the edge of Grasmere village … The food is something you should be warned about – dinner was absolutely gorgeous and five courses long.”
MATURE TYMES
“The elegant hotel is set in two acres on the edge of Grasmere village, whose charm is greatly enhanced when the crowds dissolve in the evening … Don’t plan an extensive lunch!”
BIRMINGHAM POST
“A very special hotel in a very special part of England … The food is of the highest quality … After a hard day’s exploring, the ravenous diner can enjoy top-class gourmet food.”
COLCHESTER EVENING GAZETTE
“For a special treat, I really couldn’t recommend this place highly enough … The staff are very friendly, the service is excellent, the rooms are lovely, and the food is divine …… I don’t think I could find fault with the hotel and would
HULL DAILY MAIL
“We did have the perfect answer to our exertions, plunging into our en-suite whirlpool bath in the delightful Rothay Garden Hotel, which provides an oasis of luxury on the edge of Grasmere.”
NOTTINGHAM EVENING POST
“Outstanding … an excellent base from which to explore the Lakes all year round … At the Rothay Garden you’re sure of superb service. And the outside world takes second place to the luxuries of the hotel’s cosy lounges, scenic views and
SOUTH SHIELDS GAZETTE
“For something a little extra special, the splendid Rothay Garden Hotel provides the perfect cuisine … comfortable and classy … memorable enough to attract diners from as far as Newcastle.”
BOLTON EVENING NEWS
“The warmth of the after-dark welcome at the Rothay Garden Hotel set the scene for the rest of our stay … We won’t wait until the next anniversary to return.”
WEST LANCASHIRE EVENING GAZETTE
“An ideal location from which to explore a piece of heaven on earth.”
ONTARIO FREE PRESS, CANADA
“The hotel oozes comfort … Me, I stayed in the hotel garden with a beer. And even there, the views were spectacular.”
PETERBOROUGH EVENING TELEGRAPH
“Food at the Rothay Garden is gourmet standard – every night.”
CHESTER CHOICE
“We really did have a fabulous time and the food was out of this world – especially for a village which specialises in gingerbread!”
SHROPSHIRE STAR
“Food at the Rothay Garden is beautifully cooked, and portions are perfectly sized….expect a courteous welcome and a relaxed atmosphere”….
GOOD FOOD GUIDE

Social Share

Take advantage of our delicious 4 night #Food & #Wine Break from 20th to 24th March.. https://t.co/5GwhctrTA8https://t.co/p2wBVIMALD
As 2017 kicks into gear, many of us will already be thinking of the new experiences and travels this year. Indeed, there is no time like the present to plan a fresh adventure or perhaps even learn a new skill. So what will you try this year? Here in ...
Get Connected...