Guest Reviews

We're delighted to hear such lovely comments from all our guests...

"First class hotel"

Reviewed Trip Advisor - March 2019

My husband and I have been visiting this hotel for over 10 years. The qualities of the fittings in the rooms are of the highest quality with the attention to detail being fantastic and most of the rooms have beautiful views over the hills or the river.

"Hidden Gem"

Reviewed Trip Advisor - March 2019

We booked through Red Letter Day for the weekend and have been seriously impressed! Location in regards to getting into the centre of Grasmere is good, just a short walk but means that it’s quiet and secluded. We stayed in a rydal room, which had everything we needed

"..as a new pin!"

Reviewed Trip Advisor - Feb 2019

This hotel looks inside as if it is brand new. We all know how hard it is to keep grouting clean but here it sparkles. All of the interior decor is gorgeous and so in keeping with the outside slate build. Only thirty bedrooms so it is quiet and homely.

"Champage night meal and overenight stay"

Reviewed Trip Advisor - Feb 2019

It is not often you stay somewhere and cannot find anything to complain about, however slight. But the only complaint is that we were unable to stay for another night! Comfortable and quiet room, but you do need to switch off the heating/cooling unit at night for total peace.

"Birthday treat"

Reviewed Trip Advisor - Jan 2019

We have stayed at Rothay Garden on a few occasions and it never disappoints. We received a warm welcome and shown to our room by Victoria, who was very attentive throughout our visit. The food was excellent with varied choices and all staff in the restaurant and bar were…

"An excellent winter break"

Reviewed Trip Advisor - Jan 2019

Our first visit here did not disappoint. The hotel is in a quiet spot on the edge of Grasmere with its own parking and a pleasant garden next to the small river. The staff were helpful, attentive and efficient throughout our stay.

"Lovely hotel and great food"

Reviewed Trip Advisor - Jan 2019

We stayed at Rothay garden on Saturday 12th of Jan. What a lovely hotel. Very friendly staff, and great quality and value for money restaurant. My parents were stopping there as a Xmas present from myself for a couple of days, and they had already told us that they had a great.

"Still as good as ever!"

Reviewed Trip Advisor - Jan 2019

We have stayed at the Rothay Garden on several occasions and it always maintains the same high standard of service and personal attention. We staying for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We took advantage of the free dining offer and the food was excellent.

 

What the papers say

“For a hotel that will give you a warm, friendly welcome and provide impeccable facilities and service, plus food of quite sensational standards, then you need look no further.”
LANCASHIRE EVENING POST
“Grasmere has built a reputation for good places to stay, and top of that list must come the Rothay Garden Hotel.”
BRISTOL EVENING POST
“An oasis of luxury on the edge of Grasmere.”
NOTTINGHAM EVENING POST
“Wonderful, truly wonderful! Loved the hotel, what a fabulous setting is…… The food was spectacular. I can't remember when I've had a better weekend...”
CARLISLE NEWS & STAR
“The Rothay Garden has all the ingredients for a perfect few days’ holiday.”
THE LAKES MESSENGER
“Many hotels lavish attention on restaurants and lounges and skimp on bedrooms: the Rothay Garden gets the balance right.”
WESTERN DAILY PRESS
"The perfect place to stay....stunning views and a remarkably intimate atmosphere where members of staff treat guests as old friends"
DAILY MAIL ONLINE
“A real flower-shrouded oasis in Grasmere is the Rothay Garden Hotel on the edge of the village ... Head chef Andrew Burton’s extensive menus tantalise the taste buds.”
ABERDEEN EVENING EXPRESS
“The Rothay Garden offered comfort, cleanliness and the sort of food for which some people would die … Here was a hotel which placed its guests above all else … Heaven on earth.”
YORKSHIRE POST
“Perfectly positioned on the edge of Grasmere village … The food is something you should be warned about – dinner was absolutely gorgeous and five courses long.”
MATURE TYMES
“The elegant hotel is set in two acres on the edge of Grasmere village, whose charm is greatly enhanced when the crowds dissolve in the evening … Don’t plan an extensive lunch!”
BIRMINGHAM POST
“A very special hotel in a very special part of England … The food is of the highest quality … After a hard day’s exploring, the ravenous diner can enjoy top-class gourmet food.”
COLCHESTER EVENING GAZETTE
“For a special treat, I really couldn’t recommend this place highly enough … The staff are very friendly, the service is excellent, the rooms are lovely, and the food is divine …… I don’t think I could find fault with the hotel and would
HULL DAILY MAIL
“We did have the perfect answer to our exertions, plunging into our en-suite whirlpool bath in the delightful Rothay Garden Hotel, which provides an oasis of luxury on the edge of Grasmere.”
NOTTINGHAM EVENING POST
“Outstanding … an excellent base from which to explore the Lakes all year round … At the Rothay Garden you’re sure of superb service. And the outside world takes second place to the luxuries of the hotel’s cosy lounges, scenic views and
SOUTH SHIELDS GAZETTE
“For something a little extra special, the splendid Rothay Garden Hotel provides the perfect cuisine … comfortable and classy … memorable enough to attract diners from as far as Newcastle.”
BOLTON EVENING NEWS
“The warmth of the after-dark welcome at the Rothay Garden Hotel set the scene for the rest of our stay … We won’t wait until the next anniversary to return.”
WEST LANCASHIRE EVENING GAZETTE
“An ideal location from which to explore a piece of heaven on earth.”
ONTARIO FREE PRESS, CANADA
“The hotel oozes comfort … Me, I stayed in the hotel garden with a beer. And even there, the views were spectacular.”
PETERBOROUGH EVENING TELEGRAPH
“Food at the Rothay Garden is gourmet standard – every night.”
CHESTER CHOICE
“We really did have a fabulous time and the food was out of this world – especially for a village which specialises in gingerbread!”
SHROPSHIRE STAR
“Food at the Rothay Garden is beautifully cooked, and portions are perfectly sized….expect a courteous welcome and a relaxed atmosphere”….
GOOD FOOD GUIDE

Social Share

Are you planning a trip to the #Lakes this #Spring? Browse our blog on one of the best #LakeDistrict attractions -… https://t.co/t6sImUe9PT
In all of Britain, no other place compares. Geological quirks of fate, millions of years in the making, have turned the Lake District into a wild swimmer’s paradise. A kingdom of water. Indoor pools with artificial lighting and eye-burning chlorine...
Get Connected...
2 Rosette
AA 4 star hotel
CBen Gold
Cumbria Tourism
Food and Drink Awards 2014
Green Globe
The Lake District
Nuture Lakeland
TripAdvisor
Visit England