Guest Reviews

We're delighted to hear such lovely comments from all our guests...

"Excellent stay"

Reviewed Trip Advisor - August 2017

Stayed her for mine and my partners birthday in December. Really could not of asked for more. We had a beautiful room with small balcony, with fantastic views. We opted to have dinner included in our stay which was delicious From starter to dessert.

"Excellent small hotel"

Reviewed Trip Advisor - August 2017

Very professional staff, good attention to detail Very attractive layout Excellent room Brilliant location, quiet on the outskirts of Grasmere, but easy access Food quality good, outstanding views from restaurant Good parking

"Excellent weekend break"

Reviewed Trip Advisor - July 2017

We stayed in Silver Howe , a loft suite , which is very well appointed. Large bath with centre taps, two rainwater effect showers in separate area. The only downside is the rather low beam on one side of the bed but the the L shaped room is perfect for two and has two televisions!

"Pleasant surprise"

Reviewed Trip Advisor - July 2017

We normally stay around Windermere but fancied a change - first time stay over in Grasmere. The Rothay Garden was just perfect for a peaceful night away. Lovely hotel and garden / views within a short walk of the main village.

"Special weekend"

Reviewed Trip Advisor - July 2017

This was our first visit to this hotel and we hope it will not be our last. It is very rare to be 100% happy with everything but in this case we were. The hotel is in a beautiful part of the Lake District and upon our arrival it was easy to see how the hotel and gardens are kept to a very high standard. Our room was very spacious and clean overlooking a lovely trickling small river. The staff were all very polite and attentive to our every need.

"Perfect anniversary trip"

Reviewed Trip Advisor - July 2017

We absolutely loved our experience at the hotel. The main receptionist was fantastic - nothing was too much trouble. We had the rydal riverside hotel which was perfect, lovely and peaceful with the babbling brook outside. Lovely toiletries in the room and also a nice touch that you can take breakfast in bed complimentary. The spa made it extra special!

 

What the papers say

“For a hotel that will give you a warm, friendly welcome and provide impeccable facilities and service, plus food of quite sensational standards, then you need look no further.”
LANCASHIRE EVENING POST
“Grasmere has built a reputation for good places to stay, and top of that list must come the Rothay Garden Hotel.”
BRISTOL EVENING POST
“An oasis of luxury on the edge of Grasmere.”
NOTTINGHAM EVENING POST
“Wonderful, truly wonderful! Loved the hotel, what a fabulous setting is…… The food was spectacular. I can't remember when I've had a better weekend...”
CARLISLE NEWS & STAR
“The Rothay Garden has all the ingredients for a perfect few days’ holiday.”
THE LAKES MESSENGER
“Many hotels lavish attention on restaurants and lounges and skimp on bedrooms: the Rothay Garden gets the balance right.”
WESTERN DAILY PRESS
"The perfect place to stay....stunning views and a remarkably intimate atmosphere where members of staff treat guests as old friends"
DAILY MAIL ONLINE
“A real flower-shrouded oasis in Grasmere is the Rothay Garden Hotel on the edge of the village ... Head chef Andrew Burton’s extensive menus tantalise the taste buds.”
ABERDEEN EVENING EXPRESS
“The Rothay Garden offered comfort, cleanliness and the sort of food for which some people would die … Here was a hotel which placed its guests above all else … Heaven on earth.”
YORKSHIRE POST
“Perfectly positioned on the edge of Grasmere village … The food is something you should be warned about – dinner was absolutely gorgeous and five courses long.”
MATURE TYMES
“The elegant hotel is set in two acres on the edge of Grasmere village, whose charm is greatly enhanced when the crowds dissolve in the evening … Don’t plan an extensive lunch!”
BIRMINGHAM POST
“A very special hotel in a very special part of England … The food is of the highest quality … After a hard day’s exploring, the ravenous diner can enjoy top-class gourmet food.”
COLCHESTER EVENING GAZETTE
“For a special treat, I really couldn’t recommend this place highly enough … The staff are very friendly, the service is excellent, the rooms are lovely, and the food is divine …… I don’t think I could find fault with the hotel and would
HULL DAILY MAIL
“We did have the perfect answer to our exertions, plunging into our en-suite whirlpool bath in the delightful Rothay Garden Hotel, which provides an oasis of luxury on the edge of Grasmere.”
NOTTINGHAM EVENING POST
“Outstanding … an excellent base from which to explore the Lakes all year round … At the Rothay Garden you’re sure of superb service. And the outside world takes second place to the luxuries of the hotel’s cosy lounges, scenic views and
SOUTH SHIELDS GAZETTE
“For something a little extra special, the splendid Rothay Garden Hotel provides the perfect cuisine … comfortable and classy … memorable enough to attract diners from as far as Newcastle.”
BOLTON EVENING NEWS
“The warmth of the after-dark welcome at the Rothay Garden Hotel set the scene for the rest of our stay … We won’t wait until the next anniversary to return.”
WEST LANCASHIRE EVENING GAZETTE
“An ideal location from which to explore a piece of heaven on earth.”
ONTARIO FREE PRESS, CANADA
“The hotel oozes comfort … Me, I stayed in the hotel garden with a beer. And even there, the views were spectacular.”
PETERBOROUGH EVENING TELEGRAPH
“Food at the Rothay Garden is gourmet standard – every night.”
CHESTER CHOICE
“We really did have a fabulous time and the food was out of this world – especially for a village which specialises in gingerbread!”
SHROPSHIRE STAR
“Food at the Rothay Garden is beautifully cooked, and portions are perfectly sized….expect a courteous welcome and a relaxed atmosphere”….
GOOD FOOD GUIDE

Social Share

Our next Food & Drink Programme runs from 20th to 24th November 2017.... https://t.co/mFkU8M3WQy #Grasmere @golakeshttps://t.co/BgQtr4efSI
From fiery autumn colours and rutting stags to some wonderful events, autumn is a wonderful time in the Lake District. Here are some highlights to look forward to for October and November 2017, from right on our doorstep in Ambleside and Grasmere, to...
Get Connected...