Guest Reviews

We're delighted to hear such lovely comments from all our guests...

"Outstanding"

Reviewed Trip Advisor - January 2018

I booked two nights for my partners birthday on Friday 12th until saturday 13 Jan. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very special. The staff are incredible, nothing is too much trouble and they are very friendly and personable.
The room was beautifully decorated, the bed comfortable and cosy which is perfect after a day of walking.

"Lovely rooms, spa and great location!"

Reviewed Trip Advisor - January 2018

We stayed here for one night and had a lovely time. The spa was very relaxing and it's in a great location for walks and the shops. I wish we had booked the Jumble room for dinner though (in the town) as we have heard great things about it!

"Lovely place for a break"

Reviewed Trip Advisor - January 2018

Rothay Garden is a small hotel situated in the beautiful Lakeland village of Grasmere. It is very difficult to pick fault with any aspect of our stay. The whole place is tastefully decorated, the room was very cosy and the food was excellent. Staff were very attentive without being fussy and to to it off there is a small spa with jacuzzi, steam room and aromatherapy room. We will certainly be returning!

"A sublime birthday"

Reviewed Trip Advisor - January 2018

My wife and I had a 3 night break here for a birthday treat. We had a river suite on half-board.
The room was gorgeous, clean and comfortable with patio doors onto a small terrace overlooking the river Rothay, kingfisher, red squirrel, dippers and lots of other birdlife right outside the room.
The food, both breakfast and dinner, was absolutely delightful. We can't wait for our next visit.

"Excellent food & service"

Reviewed Trip Advisor - December 2017

Despite decoration to part of the hotel we still had a great time the food was of the usual high standard and the service was excellent. Grassmere is the place to go if you prefer peace and quiet after a stroll around the Lakes fells.

"Fantastic hotel"

Reviewed Trip Advisor - December 2017

We arrived on Friday afternoon and were met with really friendly staff. Our bags were taken to our room and we were made to feel really welcome. The accommodation was excellent and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

"Special meal out"

Reviewed Trip Advisor - November 2017

I can not fault anything about out visit to Rothay Garden Hotel. The hotel was beautiful, the service was outstanding and the meal was fantastic. Would recommend a visit by anyone. A little on the pricey side so would suggest visit for a special occasion. Would certainly go back.

"Sunshine in November"

Reviewed Trip Advisor - November 2017

Beautiful location, characterful but very comfortable buildings, excellent food and service without starchiness. Spa to add some pamppering. And sunshine in November...

We stay in a riverside suite on the ground floor, which has bath and shower, king size bed and lounge overlooking the river Rothay and a terrace area outside.

 

What the papers say

“For a hotel that will give you a warm, friendly welcome and provide impeccable facilities and service, plus food of quite sensational standards, then you need look no further.”
LANCASHIRE EVENING POST
“Grasmere has built a reputation for good places to stay, and top of that list must come the Rothay Garden Hotel.”
BRISTOL EVENING POST
“An oasis of luxury on the edge of Grasmere.”
NOTTINGHAM EVENING POST
“Wonderful, truly wonderful! Loved the hotel, what a fabulous setting is…… The food was spectacular. I can't remember when I've had a better weekend...”
CARLISLE NEWS & STAR
“The Rothay Garden has all the ingredients for a perfect few days’ holiday.”
THE LAKES MESSENGER
“Many hotels lavish attention on restaurants and lounges and skimp on bedrooms: the Rothay Garden gets the balance right.”
WESTERN DAILY PRESS
"The perfect place to stay....stunning views and a remarkably intimate atmosphere where members of staff treat guests as old friends"
DAILY MAIL ONLINE
“A real flower-shrouded oasis in Grasmere is the Rothay Garden Hotel on the edge of the village ... Head chef Andrew Burton’s extensive menus tantalise the taste buds.”
ABERDEEN EVENING EXPRESS
“The Rothay Garden offered comfort, cleanliness and the sort of food for which some people would die … Here was a hotel which placed its guests above all else … Heaven on earth.”
YORKSHIRE POST
“Perfectly positioned on the edge of Grasmere village … The food is something you should be warned about – dinner was absolutely gorgeous and five courses long.”
MATURE TYMES
“The elegant hotel is set in two acres on the edge of Grasmere village, whose charm is greatly enhanced when the crowds dissolve in the evening … Don’t plan an extensive lunch!”
BIRMINGHAM POST
“A very special hotel in a very special part of England … The food is of the highest quality … After a hard day’s exploring, the ravenous diner can enjoy top-class gourmet food.”
COLCHESTER EVENING GAZETTE
“For a special treat, I really couldn’t recommend this place highly enough … The staff are very friendly, the service is excellent, the rooms are lovely, and the food is divine …… I don’t think I could find fault with the hotel and would
HULL DAILY MAIL
“We did have the perfect answer to our exertions, plunging into our en-suite whirlpool bath in the delightful Rothay Garden Hotel, which provides an oasis of luxury on the edge of Grasmere.”
NOTTINGHAM EVENING POST
“Outstanding … an excellent base from which to explore the Lakes all year round … At the Rothay Garden you’re sure of superb service. And the outside world takes second place to the luxuries of the hotel’s cosy lounges, scenic views and
SOUTH SHIELDS GAZETTE
“For something a little extra special, the splendid Rothay Garden Hotel provides the perfect cuisine … comfortable and classy … memorable enough to attract diners from as far as Newcastle.”
BOLTON EVENING NEWS
“The warmth of the after-dark welcome at the Rothay Garden Hotel set the scene for the rest of our stay … We won’t wait until the next anniversary to return.”
WEST LANCASHIRE EVENING GAZETTE
“An ideal location from which to explore a piece of heaven on earth.”
ONTARIO FREE PRESS, CANADA
“The hotel oozes comfort … Me, I stayed in the hotel garden with a beer. And even there, the views were spectacular.”
PETERBOROUGH EVENING TELEGRAPH
“Food at the Rothay Garden is gourmet standard – every night.”
CHESTER CHOICE
“We really did have a fabulous time and the food was out of this world – especially for a village which specialises in gingerbread!”
SHROPSHIRE STAR
“Food at the Rothay Garden is beautifully cooked, and portions are perfectly sized….expect a courteous welcome and a relaxed atmosphere”….
GOOD FOOD GUIDE

Social Share

As we reach the new year, it is a great time to think about new experiences and things to try for 2018. Should you find yourself in Lake District, there has never been a better selection of things to experience these days. So what would be on our list...
Get Connected...